From the start of his career Hugh Newell Jacobsen has had three books compiled in his honor, each exploring the ins and outs of his design philosophy through images, drawings and intimate descriptions of the very projects he has erected.  Each book features contributions by world-renowned peers such as legendary graphic designer and architect Massimo Vignelli, Pulitzer Prize winner and architecture critic for The New Yorker Paul Goldberger, and Yale University's Sterling Professor Emeritus Vincent Scully.  The photography used throughout the publications documents the three-decade long collaboration between one of America's finest architects and one of America's greatest architectural photographers, Robert C. Lautman.  

With the introduction of Hugh Jacobsen's son Simon Jacobsen to the firm in 1994, the two have collaborated on 60 varying projects together throughout the US and Europe. In development now is the fourth monograph of a new selection of 15 houses and commercial projects the two designed in the last ten years.  Due late 2018.

Book I:  Hugh Newell Jacobsen, Architect

Published in 1988 by AIA Press, ISBN:  9780913962978

Book IV “Jacobsen Architecture: Twelve Houses.” Hugh and Simon Jacobsen 2007-2019.

Release date 2020.Publisher: Rizzoli.

Book II: Hugh Newell Jacobsen, Recent Work 1988 - 1993

Published in 1994 by Rockport, ISBN: 9781558351196

Book III:  Hugh Newell Jacobsen, Architect

Published in 2007 by Rizzoli, ISBN:  9780847829217